Rope Conditioning

I have several lengths of nylon/polyester rope that are essentially usable out of the package, and they seem like they’ll work quite well. However, I keep hearing how much better natural fiber ropes are for bondage (and I’m sure they’ll hold knots better). So, gonna try this.

I already had a couple of lengths of rope sitting around unconditioned (a length of sisal and a length of manila). These are not ropes that are traditionally considered the best for bondage, but I’m not planning on suspending anyone with them and the price was right for experimentation. ;)

I’m doing some research right now (*gasp* No, research? Me? Never!) on proper conditioning, and as usual I’m getting several different viewpoints on the best way to do so.

Some people say mink oil (can’t afford it! ;)), tea oil, simple mineral oil, baby oil or vaseline, and some people just say to condition the rope with the oils from your own skin. Some people say boil, some don’t.

Does anyone have any suggestions that have worked well for them?

One Response to “Rope Conditioning”

  1. Ellie Says:

    I have been conditioning hemp lately. It is an intensive process but fulfilling. I can give you some tips on what is working for me if you want, just let me know.

Leave a Reply

