DIY flogger!


So as I stated in an earlier post, I’m going to be trying to make a few of my toys rather than spending a gigantic amount of cash. Some things I know I’m simply going to have to buy, but others…

Between using SC’s little suede-lace cat as a reference and reading up on a few things on the wonderful intarnetz, I was able to make a cat of my own. I took ten suede laces, folded them in half and passed them through a copper ring. After I arranged them as neatly as they were going to get, I used electrical tape to tightly bind the strands together. I taped them tightly enough it made a nice dense handle that’s slightly flexible, but not very. Then I used super-thin hemp cording and wound it around the electrical tape, covering it for aesthetic reasons and giving it a better grip. I think it turned out pretty well, actually. The lacing was cheap (though if I’d bought it in bulk it probably would have been cheaper; I didn’t have the self-control to wait, though. ;)), and the cost for the tiny amount of electrical tape and hemp is negligible. I’m now wondering if there’s a way to soften up the laces, and wondering if I actually want to soften them. This little toy seems like it’ll have a good sting behind it.

All in all a successful experiment, I think…and I think I may be experimenting more along these lines.

5 Responses to “DIY flogger!”

  1. longingsend Says:

    Congrats on making your own! Saves soooo much money!

    xoxoxo mina

  2. PantheraPardus Says:

    Kinda fun, to boot. I’m going to see if I can find some thin, soft suede today for a larger toy.

    Wish me luck. ;)

  3. Ellie Says:

    Very cool! Any recommendations on good websites to find tutorials on these things?

  4. PantheraPardus Says:

    One good resource is the BDSM DIY group on Fetlife…I forget the actual name and the site seems not to want to cooperate right now, but you’ll know it when you see it.

    As for other sites, I looked at a number of ’em, but the most helpful was this one:

    http://www.myprivatejourney.com/BDSM_Toys_and_furniture_%28DIY%29.html

    this site has a series of links, but some of them no longer work:

    http://no.place.like.home.mindspring.com/abbot/resources/diy_floggers.htm

    But mostly, for the little lace flogger, I just looked at the one I’d borrowed from SC and kind of backwards-engineered it. ;)

    I’m still hunting for resources, so I’ll post links to any other sites I find as well.

  5. Ellie Says:

    Very cool, I am bookmarking these.

Leave a Reply

